Show Awards

If you’ve been to any other car or motorcycle show, you’ll find ours a bit different. We pride ourselves on integrating the students of Boys Republic into the proceedings as much as we can. One such example are the unique show trophies we hand out each year. The trophies are hand made by the students of Boys Republic, from donated parts.

Do you want to sponsor a trophy? Do you have a part or something you think might look good on a trophy? We’d love to hear from you. Contact us to find out how you might get involved.

Judging Criteria

Over 50 custom awards, made by the students of Boys Republic from donated car and motorcycle parts, are awarded for a large variety of vehicles. Great care and time are taken by our volunteer judging group to match the awards to all makes, models, and types of vehicles that participate in our event each year. Please note the general terms of how these winners are determined based on the criteria listed below:

    1. We are looking for “Cool Cars” in the way we think of Steve McQueen as the King of Cool.
    2. No concerns about dirt, dust or grease, a departure from traditional Concours where every nut and bolt are checked for cleanliness and authenticity.
    3. Presentation of the vehicle is important but so is the history, provenance and usage of the entrant’s vehicle within the class assigned (i.e., late model, early model, hot rod, race car etc.).
    • Interior- should be clean and well preserved
    • Exterior- overall presentation
    • Engine and Mechanical Components- proper maintenance
    • Cool Points” = historical Significance or rarity of the vehicle

The Friends of Steve McQueen Car and Motorcycle Show Committee along with the staff and students of Boys Republic and Girls Republic thank you for your participation in our annual event by bringing out your own pride and joy to join the field of vehicles on our campus.

Chairman Awards

Boys of Boys Republic AwardMichael Dunn2007Chevy Silverado
Ron Harris Chariman AwardLou & Inga De Lay1959Marcel's Roadster
Chris Burns Director AwardLloyd Johnson1956210 Chevy Sedan
John Watkins AwardRay Romero2020Ford F-350
Michael Dolphin Award- Judges ChoiceRandy Carlson1972Brubaker Box Sports Van
King of Cool" Chad McQueen AwardKurtiss Humphrey2005GT-R

Theme Awards

" The Getaway" Award (Best Stock Truck)Denny Aveland1995Ford F-250
The Meyers Manx AwardChristopher Vasquez1963VW Baja Buggy

Bullitt/Mustang Awards

Best In Class (1967-1968) Bullitt ReplicaJeremy Scott1968Mustang GT
Best In Classs (2008-2009) Bullitt Highland GreenDwayne Lowe2008Mustang Bullitt
Best In Classs (2019-2020) Bullitt Highland GreenJudy Williams
Best In Class (2019-2020) Bullitt BlackChase McQueen
Michael O'Donnell Spirit AwardMichael Spellman1968Bullitt Mustang GT
Best In Class(1965-1973) Ford MustangMicaela Hewus1965Mustang Convertible
Best In Class (1979-1993) Ford MustangAdrian Franco1986Mustang Convertible
Best In Class (2005-2014) Ford MustangJames Nehring2014Mustang Roush
Best In Class (2015-2022) Ford MustangTroy Gallagher2015Mustang GT
Best In Class Shelby MustangHanna Issa2022GT500
Best Signature MustangLourdes Cruz2021Mustang Mach 1
Best In Class Signature MustangRay Stoneham2007Mustang Saleen Parnelli Ed.

Porsche Awards

Porsche OpenPol Pittayanwul2017Macan GTS
Porsche Coupe 356Greg Pappas1956
Porsche Outlaw 356Donny Kuhler1981SC
Porsche 356 Special AwardJohn Laur1956
Best Porsche Early 911 (1966-1973)Eddie Padilla1973911-T
Porsche 911 (1974-1998) AwardCarlo Minassian1989930 Turbo
Porsche 911 Special AwardBrian Barkoff2008GT2
Best Porsche Model 996-997 AwardMark Medina2009Turbo Cab
Porsche GT Series AwardLewis Francis2019GTS
Porsche Sponsor AwardRobert Hatch1970911 T
Porsche Tribute AwardRichard Canales2022Boxster
Special AwardDennis Curly1969912 Targa

Motorcycle Awards

"Baja 100" Best CompetitiveDonald Reynolds1975Kawasaki HI 500
"Bonneville" Best Street BikeKyle Fletcher1969Triumph Bonneville
Boys of Boys Republic ChoiceMarko DjoricHandmade Custom
Bruce Brown AwardRudy Pock1939Indian Scout
Chad McQueen AwardBrad Boyle1929Scott Squirrel
"El Escorial" Best Enduro/Dual SportMark Carter1971Husqvarna Sportsman
"Elsinore Grand Prix"Kenny EastonRokon Trailbreaker
" Great Escape" Best EuropeanMarius Dorneanu1978BMW
Harvey Mushman Best HusqvarnaSteve Dermont1972CR450
"Mint 400" Best JapaneseBrad Boyle1969Kawasaki 250
"On Any Sunday" AwardPete Hughes1973Husqvarna Desertmaster
"Sacarmento Mile" Best Dirt/Flat Track BikeJohn Flores1972Norton Commando
" The Magician" Best TrialsGabriel Trench1973Rickman Hodaka
"Widowmaker" Best CustomBruce HansonHome Built V8 Trike

Drag Car Awards

Best Drag CarJason Rupert2023NHRA Nitro Funny Car

Auto/Truck Awards

Antique CarEd Roybal1932Ford Roadster
Best Hauler TruckJerry Fox1947Ford
Best Vintage VanTimothy Duplesis1977Tradesman 200
Recreational Vehicle/Trailer AwardMichael Merkt2012Airstream 27 FB
Recreational Vehicle/Trailer AwardSusan Overman1973GMC Birchaven

American Car

Best Custom TruckJohn Pyle1953Ford F-100
Best ClassicJeremy West1956Chevy Nomad
Best Classic CustomBrad Rizzi1957Chevy Sedan
Best Hot RodOliver Grani1951Henry J
Best "Tri-Five"Rick Simon1955210
Best Early CorvetteDan Gonzalez1964Corvette
Best Late CorvetteDavid Hera2022Corvette Convertible
Best LowriderGerrit Verhagen1951Skyline Deluxe 2-Door
Custom VanSusan & Jeff Overman1975G10 Van
Best FordFrank Ralston1931Ford Model A
Best ChevroletR Miller1968Camaro
Special AwardJ Cardiel2018Camaro ZL1
Special AwardTy Montoya1969Camaro

European Car Awards

Best Euro CarLou De Lay1959Marcel Roadster
Best English Street CarDave Terrell1962Jaguar E-Type
Best Italian Street CarRudy Pock1958Fiat Multipla
Best FerrariCharles Stuewe1982Ferrari 308 GTSI
Best VolkswagenJason Cecchini1950Type 1 Standard
Special AwardRon Alder1965VW Crew Cab

Sponsor Award

Best PaintRaul Rodriguez1966Lincoln

Miscellaneous Awards

Best Mopar Jamie Mendoza1968Pontiac Firebird
Japanese Domestic MarketBill Bennett1973Datsun 240 Z